Wednesday Two-a-Days Kick my Asana

Oh NYC, you evil humid mistress.

Fall, my favorite season, should be here by now, but of course, in true NYC fashion, we get one last assault of heat, humidity and the lovely smell garbage, concrete and B.O in the air. Ahh, lovely NYC.

So when I woke up today and was sweating through my clothes even with AC on, I was not looking forward to my morning run. Three snoozes later I begrudgingly laced up and went out.

Bam. That first wave of heat. Ugh, it’s like running through pudding.

I start off feeling great, which never is usually the case. I find that it’s the hardest the first couple of miles until I find my perfect little running heaven of even breathing and solid stride.

4.41 miles in 40:02

Not bad. But damn was I miserable.

I came home and chugged 55 solid onces of water in probably 3 mins. Cold shower and on with the day.

Only nope.

I left the house with my pink fuzzy house slippers on. Only to then come back in, put on real shoes and pick up my empty laundry bag instead of the full bag of garbage.

Clearly this run kicked my ass and is making me remember it. Or forget it, as it were.

All day, water water water. Nope, still feel like crap. Tea. Nada. Green juice.

Yes!

Rejuvenated by my favorite juice “Get Your Green On” from Juice Generation. I know, the name is dope, but don’t even think about stealing it. That ish is trademarked.

It has kale, spinach, mint, pineapple and apple and it is gooooood. Go out RIGHT NOW if you are near one and thank me later.

Then.

Yoga.

Now, some people see yoga as this do nothing activity. I challenge anyone who thinks that to come to my teachers class at NY Loved Yoga at 6:30 on Wednesdays.

I have never. And I mean not even when I recently ran 12 miles on an 80 degree humid NYC day, sweat so much in my life. No matter where I’m at in my training and practice, this chick makes you WORK and you will feel it the next day.

Normally after her classes I feel bruised and beaten yet phenomenal at the same time, tonight was just agony. That damn run, THIS STUPID HUMIDITY!

Training. Some days you kick your asana more than others. Breathe through it.

Or just be like me and treat yourself to some much deserved frozen yogurt.

20130911-220230.jpg

Leave a comment